Six Cardinals Selected to Landmark All-Sportsmanship Team

Six Cardinals Selected to Landmark All-Sportsmanship Team

WASHINGTON – The Landmark Conference announced its All-Sportsmanship Team on Tuesday morning as six student-athletes from The Catholic University of America were honored.

Seniors Jennifer Delasco (women's soccer), Morgan Druce (field hockey), Michael Kvartunas (men's cross country) and Steven Lukas (men's soccer), along with junior Becky Chominski (women's cross country) and Tara Rempel (volleyball) were tabbed to the team.

The All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes who epitomize the ideals of sportsmanship. The student-athletes selected demonstrate fair play, graciousness in victory and respectfulness in defeat. They are ambassadors for the team, both on and off the field, and galvanize their teammates toward their goals. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, officials, spectators, and the greater campus community.

The All-Sportsmanship Team includes one student-athlete from each institution for each sport and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team.

Of the 47 student-athletes on the All-Sportsmanship Team, six were named All-Landmark. Five student-athletes are repeat selections from a year ago, and were described as leaders and difference-makers on their teams.

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the Landmark Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) in 2013 as a way to highlight student-athletes who are making an impact. The Landmark previously awarded a Sportsmanship Cup before the All-Sportsmanship Team replaced the Cup for the 2013-14 academic year.

All Cardinal fans are encouraged to follow all of Catholic Athletics and sign up for "email-alerts" that sends the latest news directly to your phone, tablet or device. Also, be sure to follow the Cardinals on TwitterInstagram and Facebook!