Cardinals Place 10 on Landmark Spring Sportsmanship Teams

Cardinals Place 10 on Landmark Spring Sportsmanship Teams

TOWSON, Md. - Catholic University had 10 student-athletes named to the 2019 Landmark Conference Spring All-Sportsmanship Team on Wednesday, highlighted by seniors Ryan Tracy (baseball), Luke Scaduto (men's lacrosse) and Ted Tiu (men's tennis).

Sophomores Matt Laurendau (men's golf), Michelle Brencher (women's lacrosse), Sophie Maccarone (softball) and Colleen McLaughlin (women's tennis) as well as freshmen Mary Colella (women's golf), Patrick Maxwell (men's track and field) and Anna Walcutt (women's track and field) were also selected.

The Landmark Conference named 74 student-athletes to the All-Sportsmanship Team which includes one student-athlete from each institution for each sport that is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team. Of those, 14 are repeat honorees and 15 were named to the Landmark All-Conference teams in their respective sports, including Colella who was named Landmark Conference Women's Golf Rookie of the Year.

The All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes who epitomize the ideals of sportsmanship. The student-athletes selected demonstrate fair play, graciousness in victory and respectfulness in defeat. They are ambassadors for the team, both on and off the field, and galvanize their teammates toward their goals. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, officials, spectators, and the greater campus community.

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the Landmark Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) in 2013 as a way to highlight student-athletes who are making an impact. The Landmark previously awarded a Sportsmanship Cup before the All-Sportsmanship Team replaced the Cup for the 2013-14 academic year.