32 Cardinals named to ODAC All-Academic Team

32 Cardinals named to ODAC All-Academic Team

WASHINGTON – A total of 32 members of CUA's football team were named to the ODAC All-Academic Team on Monday.  Eligibility for the ODAC All-Academic Team is open to any student-athlete that competes in a conference-sponsored sport, regardless of academic class.  He or she must achieve at least a 3.25 GPA for the year to be considered.

In all, 1,351 student-athletes from around the ODAC earned recognition on the 2011-12 list, marking the sixth straight year the total has been over 1,000 and establishing a new record total for a third straight year.

CUA won its most games since 2008 last season, and will return seven All-ODAC performers for 2012.  The Cardinals finished fourth in the nation last season in passing offense, averaging more than 328 yards per game through the air.

CUA reports for preseason camp next week and will kick-off its 2012 season on Friday, August 31 when the Cardinals host McDaniel at 7 p.m.

Below is a list of the CUA student-athletes named to the ODAC All-Acacdemic Team.

Scotty Braswell
Luke Caldwell
Greg Cordivari
Vinnie Cortese
Lawrence DeSimone
Jeff Frusciante
John Funk
Philip Fusco
Chris Gazda
Brian Gongaware
Eric Hrynczyszyn
Ryan Klein
Conor Lauerman
John Law
Ralph Martello
Quinn Martin
Billy McClatchy
Scott McElroy
Marc McEvoy
Jeremy Medina
Kenny Meyer
Patrick Nilsen
Sean Pearson
Michael Pitsenberger
Ben Powers
Christian Riegle
Pete Sanders
Michael Sinto
Conor Stueckler
Phil Thorell
David Trancynger
Michael Zolfo