CUA maintains lead in Landmark Conference Presidents Cup standings

CUA maintains lead in Landmark Conference Presidents Cup standings

WASHINGTON – The Landmark Conference announced its latest Presidents Cup standings on Tuesday and CUA remained in the lead after capturing two conference titles during the winter. The Presidents Cup was created in the inaugural year of the conference to recognize the best overall athletics program.

CUA won both the men’s and women’s basketball championships during the winter. It marked the second straight Landmark title for the women and the first for the men. Both teams then won 1st Round games in the NCAA Tournament.

Chris Kearney was named the Landmark Conference Men’s Player and Defensive Player of the Year, while Jill Woerner earned the Women’s Player of the Year award. The two CUA teams were nationally ranked for the majority of the season, and combined to go 52-6 overall, and 30-1 at home.

The Cardinals also posted 3rd place finishes in women’s indoor track and field, and women’s swimming.

Nine Cardinals earned All-Conference honors in track and field, including two relay teams that won gold medals at the conference championship, while seven swimmers received All-Conference recognition. Head Coach Paul Waas and his staff were also named the Women’s Coaching Staff of the Year.

The CUA men’s swim team placed 5th at the conference championship, and the men’s indoor track and field team also earned a 5th place finish, with Shawn Brubaker receiving All-Conference accolades.