Catholic University Men’s Basketball Coach Picks Up 100th Career Victory

Catholic University Men’s Basketball Coach Picks Up 100th Career Victory

Catholic University Men's Basketball Coach Picks Up 100th Career Victory


WASHINGTON - Sunday was a good day for the Catholic University men's basketball program. The Cardinals won the CUA/Residence Inn Greenbelt Classic at DuFour Center and Coach Steve Howes earned his 100th career victory.

Howes, in his sixth season, reached the 100-win plateau faster than any Cardinal basketball coach. He is CUA's fifth-winningest coach (100-51) and has the second-highest winning percentage (.662) in the school's 99-year basketball history.

The list of coaches Howes eclipsed to reach the century mark first include the late Jack Bruen, who coached Colgate University to two Division I NCAA Tournament appearances; Tom Young, who guided Rutgers University to its only Final Four (1976); and Mike Lonergan, who led CUA to the 2001 Division III national championship and is in his fifth season as head coach at the University of Vermont.

Howes, who succeeded Lonergan in 2004, has piloted the Cards to four post-season tournaments, three 20-win seasons, two conference championships and two NCAA Tournament appearances. In a four-round online poll conducted last year by The Washington Post, he was voted the area's best men's basketball coach.

CUA captured the 24th-annual CUA/Residence Inn Greenbelt Classic with an 88-77 victory over Regis College. Junior point guard R.J. Dixon of Charlotte, N.C., paced the Cardinals with 21 points and four assists. He was named tournament MVP and Landmark Conference Player of the Week.

CUA will open its centennial season with an exhibition game at the University of Notre Dame. The first contest between the nation's preeminent Catholic schools is set for Nov. 6, 2010.


CUA Men's Basketball All-Time Coaching Records:

Coach               Record               Seasons (Years)

Mike Lonergan  251-88 (.740)   1992-2004 (12)

Fred Rice          176-137 (.562)  1911-1930 (19)

Tom Young       134-88 (.604)   1958-1967 (9)

Jack Bruen       110-72 (.604)    1982-1989 (7)

Steve Howes    100-51 (.662)    2004-Present (6)