Hickey Named to Landmark All-Sportsmanship Team

Hickey Named to Landmark All-Sportsmanship Team

Full Landmark Release

Courtesy of the Landmark Conference

WASHINGTON - The Landmark Conference has selected 55 student-athletes to be named to the All-Sportsmanship Team. The All-Sportsmanship Team includes one student-athlete from each institution for each sport and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team.

The All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes who epitomize the ideals of sportsmanship. The student-athletes selected demonstrate fair play, graciousness in victory and respectfulness in defeat. They are ambassadors for the team, both on and off the field, and galvanize their teammates toward their goals. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, officials, spectators, and the greater campus community.

Of the 55 student-athletes on the All-Sportsmanship Team, 19 were named All-Landmark and 29 are part of the Landmark Honor Roll. Many of the student-athletes are leaders and influential members of their teams, campuses and communities.

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the Landmark Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) in 2013 as a way to highlight student-athletes who are making an impact. The Landmark previously awarded a Sportsmanship Cup before the All-Sportsmanship Team replaced the Cup for the 2013-14 academic year.

Walter Hickey represented Catholic on the men's lacrosse All-Sportsmanship Team. Hickey was named First Team All-Landmark earlier this season after leading the Cardinals with 23 goals and 10 assists. He is a two time captain, President of SAAC at Catholic, and member of prestigious engineering society and honor roll. He has been on the Deans List at CUA, and is a leader of multiple community service events for the team and athletics.

Representing Catholic on the All-Sportsmanship Team is:

Marc Hanna - Baseball

Walter Hickey - Men's Lacrosse

Katie Burton - Women's Lacrosse

Rebekah Hoisl - Softball

Joe Peters - Men's Tennis

Andrea Ingram - Women's Tennis

Michael Wood - Men's Outdoor Track & Field

Kristen Rayfield - Women's Outdoor Track & Field