Four named All-Conference led by Rookie of the Year Smith

WASHINGTON – After capturing its second straight Landmark Conference championship over the weekend, the CUA men's soccer team had four players named to the All-Conference Team on Monday, led by freshman Ian Smith who was named the Rookie of the Year.  Mike DiMarco and Tim Brady joined Smith on the first team, while Nick Sylvester earned second team honors.

Ian Smith has had a stellar first season in the red and black, having started all 20 matches for the Cardinals.  He leads CUA and ranks second in the Landmark Conference with nine goals, and his 19 points also lead CUA, while ranking fourth in the Landmark.  Three of Smith's goals were game-winners and he led CUA with 34 shots, including 17 on goal.

The first-year standout scored both CUA goals in the Cardinals' 2-0 win over Shenandoah and he scored the game-winner in conference victories over Scranton and Moravian.  Smith is CUA's second Landmark Conference Rookie of the Year, joining DiMarco, who won the award in 2008.

CUA's leader in assists with four, Mike DiMarco has scored two goals and totaled eight points in 2010.  He scored the game-winning goal in the Cardinals' 1-0 win over top-seeded Susquehanna in the conference semifinals, and scored his other goal in the regular season meeting vs. the Crusaders.  DiMarco has registered 38 shots, including 12 on goal.    

One of the leaders of the CUA defense, senior captain Tim Brady has started 17 of 20 matches for the Cardinals and helped lead them to eight shutouts, including five in their last 11 matches.  Brady and the Cardinals rank third in the Landmark Conference in goals allowed and goals against average. 

Nick Sylvester has scored two goals and handed out two assists this season.  His first goal of the season was a game-winner in CUA's 3-1 win over Hampden-Sydney, while his second came in the Cardinals' 1-1 draw at Drew.  Sylvester also assisted on the winning score in a 1-0 win over Scranton. 

Unbeaten in their last 11 matches, the Cardinals will learn their postseason fate on Monday afternoon during the NCAA Tournament selection show, which begins at 2:00.  CUA has not lost since September 25.