Cardinals Win Second Straight Landmark Title, McCarthy selected Rookie & Swimmer of the Year

Cardinals Win Second Straight Landmark Title, McCarthy selected Rookie & Swimmer of the Year

Boyds, Md. - The Catholic University of America men's swimming and diving won the Landmark Conference Title for the second consecutive year with a final score of 926.50 points. The Cardinals topped the meet by 302 points with Susquehanna earning seconds (624.5) and the University of Scranton taking third (585). 

Freshman Greg McCarthy topped the league with, three NCAA DIII B-cuts, three school records, two meets records, one conference record and three gold medals to earn the Rookie of the Year and Swimmer of the Year Awards.

On the final night of competition, McCarthy set a new school and meet record in the 200-breaststroke with an NCAA B-cut time of 2:04.79. Fellow freshman Chris Grunbok earned the silver medal spot finishing the race in 2:06.92. Sophomore Kevin Jay (2:10.66) grabbed the sixth place spot and freshman Kyle Kreuscher (2:18.59) hit the wall for eighth.

Catholic started off night three of the championships with winning the 1650-freestyle for the fifth consecutive season as freshman James Verby topped the field with a winning time of 16:34.49. Sophomore Luke Nicholson finished in 16:43.70 for bronze while junior David Lanetti touched at 17:07.75 for seventh.

With a meet record and gold medal time of 45:85, freshman Matt Mahon brought the Catholic University Men's Swimming & Diving record board into the 21st century by pulling down Hall of Famer Brett Raue's (46.54) 100-freestyle record from 1993. Junior Sam Hicks popped a 47.64 for fifth place with sophomore George Isaacs earned eight in 50.22 seconds.

Later in the night, Lanetti rallied to win the 200-butterfly title with a time of 1:56.15 while senior Peter Bajorek (1:57.21) touched third and Nicholson (1:57.58) hit the wall for fourth.

During the 200-backstroke, sophomore duo Dan Lawrey (2:01.13) and Chris Crafa (2:01.23) touched for seventh and eighth respectively.

Catholic topped the field in the final relay of the weekend, the 400-freestyle relay (3:08.10) to set a new school record and sweep men's relays. Hicks led off in 47.60 seconds followed by sophomore Olivier Nguyen (46.84), Jay (47.27) and Mahon (46.39).

Following the meet, Catholic head coach Paul Waas was honored as the Landmark Conference men's swimming and diving coach of the year. Senior Joseph Soraghan was also announced as the co-diver of the year.

Cardinal fans are encouraged to follow all Catholic Athletics and sign up for "email-alerts" that sends the latest news directly to your phone, tablet or device. You can also get the latest info, live stats and video by downloading the Cardinals Front Row Mobile App! Also, be sure to follow the Cardinals on TwitterInstagram and Facebook!