Cardinals Claim Four Major Awards and 21 All-Landmark Performances

Cardinals Claim Four Major Awards and 21 All-Landmark Performances

WASHINGTON - After an outstanding performance at the Landmark Conference Championships freshman Gregory McCarthy of The Catholic University of America men's swimming and diving team has been honored as the league's Swimmer of the Year and Rookie of the Year.

Along with McCarthy's major awards, head coach Paul Waas was selected as the Coach of the Year and senior Joseph Soraghan earned Co-Diver of the Year Honors.

McCarthy helped lead the Cardinals to their second-straight league championship as he captured three individual first-place finishes, with three NCAA DIII B-cuts, two championship meet records and one conference record.

McCarthy shattered the 400-individual medley conference and championship meet record with a time of 3:57.59. The freshman also set a new meet record in the 200-breaststroke, touching the wall in 2:04.79 and earned gold in the 200-individual medley (1:50.87). McCarthy was also a member of the title-winning 400-medley relay and 800-freestyle relay. All five of McCarthy's swims set new Catholic University program records and earned First Team All-Landmark Honors.

Soraghan earned Co-Diver of the Year honors for the first time in his career. The Litchfield, N.H., native won the one-meter dive with a score of 381.70 for and was second on the three-meter board with 340.00 total points. He was awarded First Team All-Landmark Honors for his one-meter performance and second team honors for three-meter.

Waas was recognized by the Landmark as the men's Coach of the Year for the third time in his career as he was Co-Coach of the Year in 2015 and Coach of the Year in 2017. Waas led the Cardinals to their second-straight conference championship after winning the program's first last season.

With the back-to-back Landmark Titles, the Cardinals earned 15 First-Team All-Conference spots and six second-team nods.

Freshman Matthew Mahon was honored as a first team recipient as he knocked down three Catholic University school records. The Sewell, N.J., native touched the wall first in the 50-freestyle (21.06), 100-freestyle (45.85) and the 200-freestyle (1:42.50).

Fellow freshman James Verby was recognized on the first-team after he won the 500-freestyle (4:44.13) and the 1650-freestyle (16:34.49). Junior David Lanetti won the 200-butterfly with a championship time of 1:56.15 which earned him a spot on the first team.

Seven different men earned first-team honors as Catholic swept the freestyle and medley relays with program record-setting performances.

Junior Sam Hicks followed by sophomores Kevin Jay, Olivier Nguyen and Mahon won the 400-free relay (3:08.10) while Mahon, Jay, Nguyen and sophomore George Isaacs took the top spot in the 200-free relay (1:23.90). McCarthy led off the title-winning 800-free relay (6:54.19) followed by Mahon, Jay and Hicks.

Nguyen, freshman Chris Grunbok, Jay and Isaacs won the 200-medley relay (1:34.01) and McCarthy, Grunbok, Nguyen and Mahon won the 400-medley relay (3:26.34).

Five Catholic swimmers earned silver for second-team honors. Hicks earned silver in the 500-freestyle (4:46.55) while Jay took second in the 400-individual medley (4:11.07) and Nguyen was second in the 100-butterfly with a program record of 50.98. Freshman David Lindros touched in for second place in the 100-backstroke (52.28) and Grunbok hit for silver in the 200-breaststroke (2:07.15).

Cardinal fans are encouraged to follow all Catholic Athletics and sign up for "email-alerts" that sends the latest news directly to your phone, tablet or device. You can also get the latest info, live stats and video by downloading the Cardinals Front Row Mobile App! Also, be sure to follow the Cardinals on TwitterInstagram and Facebook!