CUA set to face Drew on Tuesday in conference semifinals

CUA set to face Drew on Tuesday in conference semifinals

WASHINGTON – The CUA men's tennis team will get the spring championship season underway on Tuesday afternoon when the Cardinals travel to New Jersey to face Drew in the Landmark Conference Tournament. CUA won 12 matches this season, which includes a 5-2 mark within the Landmark.

CUA has had a strong season in 2012-13, winning four of its last six matches, including a 6-3 victory over Juniata this past weekend to clinch the third seed in the tournament.

The Cardinals and Rangers played on April 13 in Washington, and Drew came away with a hard-fought 5-4 win. Battling injury, Brian Bradley gave everything he had at the 1st singles flight, before being forced to retire.

Kyle Kramer, Joe Peters and Jason Quisberth won singles points that day, while Schuyler Hayward and Quisberth teamed up to earn the 3rd doubles point.

Hayward ranks among the Landmark leaders this season in singles wins, totaling 15, including a perfect 4-0 mark at the 6th flight.

Bradley has won 14 singles matches, while Quisberth has totaled 13, Kramer 11, and Peters 10.

In doubles, Quisberth leads the squad with 13 victories, while Peters and Kramer have earned 10 wins apiece.

Drew enters Tuesday's match with a record of 9-6 overall and 6-1 in the Landmark Conference. The Rangers lone conference loss was to Scranton, a team that was beaten by CUA.

Raul Smego is one of the conference's top players, and will face-off against Bradley at 1st singles. Smego is 12-6 this season and 6-1 in the Landmark.

Hunter Lathrop leads the team in singles wins with 14, while in doubles action, Smego has totaled 20 wins and Lathrop has won 18 matches.

CUA is making its fifth Landmark Tournament appearance, and fourth straight. The Cardinals are 1-4 during that time, having advanced to the 2008 conference championship, before falling at Drew.

CUA and Drew will get things going at 4:30 on Tuesday afternoon.

The other semifinal pits top-seeded Scranton against Juniata. The two winners will then meet on Saturday in the Landmark Conference championship.