Cardinals set to compete at league championships on Saturday

Cardinals set to compete at league championships on Saturday

WASHINGTON – The CUA cross country teams will compete in the first Landmark Conference championship of the 2010-11 academic year this weekend as the Cardinals head to Towson, Md. to run against the seven other league schools on the campus of Goucher College.

The CUA men have been led all season long by Michael Puskar, who has been the Cardinals top finisher in all five races.  His best time came at the UMES Invite when he crossed in 28:08.21. 

Other CUA runners to keep an eye on include George Brewer, Kian Olia, Garrit Quigley, Chris Derks, Michael Kennedy and Joe Kenny

The Cardinals last competed on October 16 when they traveled to the Hood College Invite and put forth one of their strongest showings of the season with a third place finish.  CUA scored 117 points, just three off second place, and placed five runners in the top-50, led by Puskar who crossed in tenth place.

Last year's men's team champion was Susquehanna with 24 points, followed by Moravian and Juniata.  The Cardinals placed eighth with 203 points.

On the women's side, freshman Camelia Mayfield has had a sensational start to her CUA career.  The native of Ashland Ore., has led the Cardinals in each race this fall with a top finish of third place at the season opening Washington & Lee Invite. 

Along with Mayfield, CUA has had a strong pack of runners this season, including Madeline Cronan, Meghan Dietzler, Laura Kinley, Jessica Breen, Keely Eckberg, Jamie Dalgleish, Madeline Holtz, Katherine McQuinn and Kristen Rayfield.

Two weeks ago at the Hood College Invite CUA placed second out of ten schools with 52 points.  Mayfield crossed in fourth place with a time of 25:32.11 and was joined in the top-25 by five other Cardinals. 

Scranton won the 2009 women's team crown with 41 points and the Royals were followed by Susquehanna (48), Juniata (82) and CUA (86) in the second through fourth spots.

Action on Saturday gets underway beginning at 11:00 AM with the men's 8K race followed by the women's 6K race at noon.