Landmark Swimming & Diving Championships: Day One

Landmark Swimming & Diving Championships: Day One

WASHINGTON – The 2013-14 Landmark Conference Swimming & Diving Championships kicked off on Friday, Feb. 7 at Marywood University with 12 events taking place on day one.

Of the 12 events, two events were finals only.  The men's and women's 200 yard freestyle relay and the men's and women's 400-yard medley relay.

The men were phenomenal, taking second place in the 200-yard relay and third place in the 400-yard relay.  Dominic Grillo, Matt Wagner, Nick Haas and Joe Cihak broke the 2005 record for the 200-yard relay recording a finals time of 1:25.05 for second place in the opening event of the day.  Caleb Capozella, Cihak, Mark Solace and Wagner completed the 400-yard relay with a time of 3:32.11 for third place.

On the women's side, the Lady Cards boasted their top finish in the 400-yard medley relay with third place and concluded finals action with a sixth place finish in the 200-yard relay.  With a time of 4:04.71, Nicole Digiacinto, Breanna Molinaro, Christine Loughery and Julia Wisler, took third, as Loughery, Meghan Rush, Digiacinto and Wisler took sixth in 1:41.23.

With 170 points, the men's squad is in second place, while the women are in sixth place with 127 points.

The swimming & diving championships continue on Saturday, Feb. 8 at 10:00 a.m.


Note: The previous 200-yard freestyle time set in 2005 by Creazo, Czar, Foust and Horstman was 1:26.44.  Dominic Grillo's lead off split time in the 200-yard freestyle relay counts as 50-yard freestyle school record with a time of 21.18.  The previous record was set in 1996 with a time of 21.24 by Brent Raue.