Donohue sets all-time wins mark as CUA downs Salisbury 69-41

Donohue sets all-time wins mark as CUA downs Salisbury 69-41

WASHINGTON – With a 69-41 win over Salisbury on Wednesday evening, CUA Head Coach Matt Donohue became the winningest women's basketball coach in school history.  Donohue passes Maggie Lonergan, who won 69 games at CUA from 2001-05.  The Cardinals (5-0) received a double-double from senior Jill Woerner with 18 points and 10 rebounds, while classmate Katarina Owunna added 15 points.

Following the win, Donohue is 70-42 at CUA, good for a winning percentage of .625.  He led the Cardinals to their first conference title and NCAA Tournament last season, winning a school-record 22 games in the process.

Salisbury led 14-6 in the early going, but the Cardinals responded with an 11-0 run to surge in front 17-14 with 7:47 to play before halftime.

Back-to-back baskets by Woerner and Owunna pushed the CUA lead to nine with 4:35 on the clock, and after Josephine Migash scored with less than two minutes remaining, the Cardinals were on top by 11.

A pair of free throws by Emily Grabiak in the final minute gave CUA its largest lead of the half at 12, but Lexi Kebetz sank a 3-pointer down the other end to pull the Sea Gulls to within nine at the break.

Leading by eight with 17:28 to play, CUA scored nine straight to open up a 17-point bulge with 14:41 remaining.

The lead reached 21 on Migash's basket with 12:07 on the clock, and CUA led by as many as 30 at one point.

The Cardinals dominated the backboards in the win, outrebounding Salisbury 57-32.  Owunna pulled down nine caroms, while Kelli Josephsen totaled seven.

Grabiak led the team in assists with four, and the Cardinals finished with 12 steals, forcing 17 Sea Gull turnovers.

Anna Hackett finished with nine points to lead the visitors, but Salisbury shot just 30% from the floor, including a 3 of 17 showing from 3-point range (17%).

The Cardinals are back in action on Saturday afternoon when they travel to New Jersey to face Drew in the Landmark Conference opener.  Start time is set for 1 p.m.