Women's Lax Clinches Third Straight Conference Championship

Women's Lax Clinches Third Straight Conference Championship

Women's Lax Clinches Third Straight Conference Championship


WASHINGTON- Eight different Cardinals scored in Saturday's women's lacrosse win over Drew University (10-8), as the Cardinals (12-6) won their third Landmark Conference title in as many years.

CUA has won the last eight games straight, and has remained perfect in conference play.The last time these two teams met, Catholic sealed a 15-4 decision on their home turf.  This is also the third consecutive year the squad has defeated Drew for the title.

Sophomore Mary Swarthout opened up the scoring with back-to-back goals for the Cards. Swarthout was followed by two goals from Meg Brady and one from Sarah Lindell, giving the squad a 4-0 lead midway through the first half. Drew's Lindsay Fry notched the first Ranger goal of the afternoon at the 15 minute mark, but Catholic scored twice more before the end of the first stanza to knot the score at 7-1.

Drew struck first in the second period, as Stacie Brown found Cara Jefferies four minutes into play. The red-hot Cardinals then fired the next six goals into the net, taking a commanding 13-2 lead in the final minutes. Drew's Lyndsay Rossi rattled off one more for the visitors but it was all for naught, as Catholic ran away with a convincing 13-3 win.

Sophomore attacker Meg Brady led the Cards with four goals and one groundball on the afternoon, while Swarthout and Lindell netted two apiece. Katie Buonpastore, Laura Haring, Kelly Ryan, Mallory Vogel, and Lindsay Davenport rounded out the scoring with one goal each.

CUA's defense managed 11 caused turnovers, four of which came from the duo of Becky Borrell and Swarthout. Borrell also added a team-high of four groundballs. Goaltender Melissa Brashear had an outstanding performance in the net with 17 saves.

The Cardinals outshot the Rangers 29-25, and won two more draw controls. The team also converted 4-of-7 free position shots.

Catholic will now await their NCAA Tournament fate, which will be decided on Sunday, May 9th at 10 p.m.