Six Cardinals named to IWLCA Academic Honor Roll

Six Cardinals named to IWLCA Academic Honor Roll

WASHINGTON – Six members of the CUA women’s lacrosse program have been named to the IWLCA Division III Academic Honor Roll, it was announced on Tuesday.  Mary Swarthout, Christy Sisko, Mallory Vogel, Mary Robinson, Lauren Bernstein and Kate Robinson are CUA’s selections.

CUA climbed to as high as eighth in the national polls in 2011, which came during the midst of a seven-game win streak.  That stretch included a pair of victories in the Landmark Conference Tournament as well as an 18-10 win over Mary Washington in the first round of the NCAA Tournament.

The Cardinals captured their fourth consecutive Landmark Conference championship and won an NCAA Tournament game for the fourth straight season.

From an individual standpoint eight Cardinals received All-American and All-Conference recognition, while four student-athletes were named to the All-Region Team.

In total, there were 219 student-athletes from across the country honored by the IWLCA.