Five Cardinals Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Five Cardinals Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

IRVING, Texas - The Catholic University football team had five players named to the 2019 National Football Foundation (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers. An all-time high of 1,678 players from a record 430 schools qualified for membership in the Society's 13th year.

The selections from Catholic included seniors Michael Alberto, Kyle Catalano, Nick Esposito, Matt Perricone and Matthew Vilas. Alberto and Vilas were named to the New England Women's & Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Football Academic All-Conference Team for the second-straight year for having a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher following the Spring 2018 semester.

The Cardinals' five honorees were the fifth-most among the eight football schools in the NEWMAC. MIT and Springfield each had 10 selections while Merchant Marine had eight and WPI had seven. Maine Maritime earned two selections.

The 1,678 players honored by the NFF in 2019 sets a new high water mark, eclipsing the previous record of 1,274 honorees in 2018. The 430 schools represented breaks the previous mark of 308 set in 2018.