Cardinals Ninth at MARC Championship, Oursler All-MARC

Cardinals Ninth at MARC Championship, Oursler All-MARC

LEWISBERRY, Pa. - The Catholic University men's rowing varsity eight finished third in the petite final and ninth overall as the Cardinals totaled 47 points en route to a ninth-place showing at the Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference (MARC) Championships Saturday at Gifford Pinchot State Park.

Competing in its first-ever conference championship in its inaugural season, Catholic also finished fifth in the novice four race.

Bucknell won its second MARC championship and first since 2016 with 101 points while George Mason was second with 92. Marietta (86), Washington College (74) and Lafayette (72) round out the top five.

Catholic began the day by finishing fourth in the third heat of the varsity eight with a time of 7:51.15. George Mason crossed the line first with a mark of 7:12.16 while Washington College was second (7:20.96) and Maryland was third (7:43.74). The top two teams in each heat advance to the grand final while the next two go to the petite final.

In the petite final, Franklin & Marshall finished first in a time of 6:42.82 while Adrian was second in 6:43.95 and the Cardinals were third in 7:06.96. As a result, the men's varsity eight earned 47 points for being ninth overall behind the six teams in the grand final, Franklin & Marshall and Adrian.

The Cards' novice four finished third in their time trial and fifth overall with a time of 9:01.93.

Following the conclusion of the weather-shortened event, the conference announced its annual awards. Freshman Benjamin Oursler was named to the All-MARC Novice Team, becoming the first student-athlete in program history to earn all-conference honors.

Catholic wraps up its inaugural season May 10-11 at the Jefferson Dad Vail Regatta on the Schuylkill River in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Second Varsity Eight
Coxswain: Libby Hodgkins, Stroke: Matthew Toppi, 7: Declan Waters, 6: Jack Shields, 5: Mike Phillips, 4: Benjamin Oursler, 3: Jack Holcomb, 2: Matt Greenburg, Bow: Paul Meany

Varsity Four
Coxswain: Christian Bordak-Roseman, Stroke: Dino Verci Vitti, 3: Mario Echevarria, 2: Matt Meade, Bow: Jack Rowing